



MINUTES OF ANNUAL MEETING OF THE BOYLE Municipal District Annual Meeting HELD IN THE LOUGHNANEANE Suite - Áras an Chontae, Roscommon, ON MONDAY, 19th June, 2023 AT

PRESENT:	Councillor John Cummins PRESIDED
MEMBERS:	Cllr T. Crosby, Cllr L. Callaghan, Cllr M. Mulligan, Cllr J. Murphy and Cllr V. Byrne.
OFFICIALS:	Greg O'Donnell, A/Director of Services Ivor Kilcline, Municipal District Co Ordinator Gerardine Lafferty, Staff Officer

**Apologies:** 

## 36.23 ELECTION OF CATHAOIRLEACH

Cllr. John Cummins welcomed all to the Annual General Meeting of Boyle Municipal District. He thanked the members for their co-operation and assistance during his tenure as Cathaoirleach and commended the projects undertaken by the Council during the course of the year. He commended all the Council staff for their support and assistance throughout his term of office and Ms. Olive Feeley who was secretary to the Committee up to November 2022. He wished her well in her new post

Cllr. Tom Crosby complimented Cllr. John Cummins on the dignified and fair manner in which he carried out his duties as Cathaoirleach over the past year. All of the elected members complimented Cllr. Cummins on his work over the past year.

Cllr. John Cummins then invited proposals for the position of Cathaoirleach of the Boyle MD.

It was **PROPOSED** by Councillor Tom Crosby

SECONDED by Councillor Joe Murphy

That Councillor Liam Callaghan be elected Cathaoirleach of the Boyle Municipal District.

Cllr. John Cummins then called for any further nominations for Cathaoirleach.

Cllr. Michael Mulligan proposed Cllr. Valerie Byrne, but as there was no Seconder, the proposal was deemed to have failed.

Cllr. Michael Mulligan expressed his disappointment as he stated that the position of Cathaoirleach should be in rotation.

Cllr. John Cummins declared that Councillor Liam Callaghan be elected Cathaoirleach of the Boyle Municipal District.

**Councillor Liam Callaghan** thanked his proposer and seconder and stated that he looked forward to working with his fellow elected members to progress the Boyle Municipal Area. He also thanked Cllr. John Cummins stating he was a leading example as Chair and was always fair. Cllr. Callaghan informed meeting that Cllr. Cummins was not going forward in the next election and he wished him goof fortune and health.

All of the elected members congratulated Councillor Callaghan on his election as Cathaoirleach of Boyle Municipal District for the coming year.

## 37.23 ELECTION OF LEAS-CATHAOIRLEACH

It was **PROPOSED** by Councillor John Cummins

SECONDED by Councillor Joe Murphy

That Councillor Tom Crosby be elected as Leas-Cathaoirleach of Boyle Municipal District.

Cllr. John Cummins called for further proposals for Leas Cathaoirleach.

Cllr. Valerie Byrne proposed Cllr. Michael Mulligan as Leas Cathaoirleach. As there was no seconder, Cllr. John Cummins declared Cllr. Tom Crosby as Leas Cathaoirleach of the Boyle Municipal District.

Cllr. Tom Crosby thanked his proposer and seconder for the position of Leas-Cathaoirleach. He stated he was looking forward to the year and the challenges ahead.

Members congratulated **Councillors Callaghan and Crosby** on their election as Cathaoirleach and Leas-Cathaoirleach respectively for the coming year and stated that all will work together for the benefit of the Boyle MD.

## 38.23 FIX DATES FOR 2023-2024

The dates for meetings for the coming year were agreed as follows:

- Friday 21<sup>st</sup> July, 2023
- Friday 22<sup>nd</sup> September, 2023
- Friday 24th November, 2023
- Friday 19<sup>th</sup> January, 2024
- Friday 22<sup>nd</sup> March, 2024
- Friday 17<sup>th</sup> May, 2024

## This concluded the business of the Annual Meeting.

The foregoing Minutes are Confirmed and Signed:

Ivor Kilcline

Meetings Administrator

Cathaoirleach

Countersigned